September 19th, 2019

Wolves nominated for Foundation of the Year Award


Warrington Wolves nominated for the Rugby League Foundation of the Year award, 2019.

Warrington Wolves, St Helens and Wakefield Trinity will be recognised for the outstanding work of their Foundations at the Betfred Super League Awards Night on Sunday 6 October.

They are the three leading contenders for the coveted Foundation of the Year Award – which has been presented by the Rugby Football League since Leeds Rhinos were the inaugural winners in 2013.

The Warrington Wolves Charitable Foundation has won the award twice before, in 2014 and 2015, and continues to go from strength to strength. This year they have added five women’s and girls’ teams, a wheelchair team and two physical disability and learning disability teams – while Great Sankey High School’s Year 7 Boys won the Steven Mullaney Memorial Match at Wembley, Warrington’s first success in the RFL Champion Schools for some time. All this is in addition to the numerous activities supporting grassroots Rugby League and the wider community.
Neither of the other nominees have previously won the award.

Saints Community Development Foundation has taken a big step forward in 2018/19, building on the great work to date. It has supported numerous RFL events, continues to grow and build in Liverpool, while delivering a comprehensive programme across the board, focusing on community engagement, and various mental and physical health initiatives, in particular Reminisce Café and In It Together. It has also provided numerous opportunities for people to play at the Totally Wicked Stadium, with the success of the qomen’s team inspiring many girls to take up the game.

Wakefield Trinity Community Trust has been nominated for the second time, having made massive strides in 2019. It has been in the forefront of the development of learning disability and physical disability Rugby League, and three of the PDRL players travelled to the Gold Coast in Australia this summer for a once in a lifetime opportunity. It has reshaped the schools offer and has also taken on wider social impact areas of work – in addition to playing a first season in the Betfred Women’s Super League. Wakefield’s ambassador clubs programme has a huge impact on thousands of players and families in the local area along with the girls’ growth programme and talent pathway.

Representatives of all three Foundations have been invited to attend the Betfred Super League Awards Night at the Lowry Theatre on Sunday 6 October, where the winner will be announced.

Super League Foundation of the Year – Previous Winners
2013 – Leeds Rhinos
2014 – Warrington Wolves
2015 – Warrington Wolves
2016 – Widnes Vikings
2017 – Wigan Warriors
2018 – Leeds Rhinos

One Energy
Halliwell Jones
My Protein oneills Total Steel University of Chester ResultingIt EPG Services
Wirehouse Boutique Hotel Group Warrigton Fabrications Muse Developments C4 Construction Sports 360 Our League